Expertise

As you may be aware from my previous posts… I don’t have much expertise in running (“writing an interesting blog” might get added to the list soon, as well).  Fortunately, my friend Jeff (he of the 12bpm resting heart rate) does… in several things, but especially running… and blogging for that matter (you can observe some of this expertise first hand at jpurdom.wordpress.com)

So today, being the leechy free-loading friend that I am, I solicited some running advice from Jeff.  Basically, I was worried about how much I land on the outside of my foot, and my running form in general, some slight knee pain, and what that means for shoes, technique, and frequency as I try to move forward with this little experiment.

Jeff, as usual, was awesome.  We even recorded some video so he could show me some things he was talking about.  Incidentally, we were in a pretty small work out room at his apartment complex and there was a girl working out next to me… which made one dude video taping another dude running (with no explanation given) a delightfully awkward experience.  Classic #Cheers, if you ask me.  Anyway, as you can see below, I supinate (under pronate) just a bit, especially landing, but it balances okay by the time of my push-off.  So I think we’re good… I need to pick out some new “neutral” running shoes soon since mine are over 2 years old.  (I’m open for suggestions on the new kicks…)

Also, if you were curious what a slightly inebriated overweight duck looks like when running… here is my best impression:

Look at me… just PUNISHING that treadmill.  (Also, it should be mentioned that this is in slow motion… I’m running WAY faster than that…)  Mostly a rest day, so only a mile for the testing today.  Distance: 1 mile

Food was good… cereal, Chipotle new pozole bowl (recommended), and a delicious quinoa veggie stir fry for dinner.  Food: B+

Still… 238.4 lbs. I’ll be interested to see what my next Fat Friday check-in will be… definitely looking to drop at least 2-3 pounds a week (not recommended to lose more than 1% a week, but I think we could do a little better than that on the upper end here)…

We’ll see…

This entry was posted in dan vs fat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment