Biathlon

I completed a biathlon today.  No, not the awesome winter Olympic sport (the most watched winter sport in Europe, incidentally).

I am still not running, thanks to the knees, but today I completed the first two lengths of a triathlon.  I got to watch the Bulls sweep the Heat while I spun through 22km (about 13.7 miles… took about 44 minutes… decent pace, actually).  Then I went for a swim.

Unfortunately there really doesn’t seem to be a “norm” swim distance for the Sprint Triathlon… I’ve seen everything from .25km (crazy short) to .75km.  Specifically, the Naperville Triathlon does a 400m swim.  So I swam 500 meters.  In your face Naperville.  But really, that’s not very far.  Nothing too crazy.  Eventually, I’d like each “workout” to be the distance of one leg of an Olympic Triathlon … .75km swim, 40k bike, 10k run.  But not yet (at least not with running, that would have been a nice short bike ride last summer).  Distance: 13.7 mile bike / 500m swim

Food was good today.  Small granola bar for breakfast, big salad for lunch, and amazing home-made chicken noodle soup for dinner, prepared by the remarkably talented @KellyNicholas.  Home-made legit… I’m talkin’ noodles from scratch over here!  Deeeeeeelicious!  Food: A-

I’m certainly improving from my Ron Swanson diet (although I did have eggs yesterday):

Weight … 233.4 lbs

This entry was posted in dan vs fat. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Biathlon

  1. Emily says:

    mmmmmmm i love kelly nicholas chicken noodle soup. and waffles.

Leave a comment