Obvious Truths

Sometimes things are so obvious that they need not be said/written.  Other times, however, they bear repeating… either because of their resounding truthiness (copyright Stephen Colbert), or because you’ve started a self-defaming blog and you need material.

With that in mind, here are a few truths that are admittedly obvious… yet warrant mention.

1) My “posting frequency” on this webernet-hosted fitness-log (a name I’ve cleverly shorted to “netslog”) has been lackluster lately.  Decidedly lackluster.  In my defense… a) no one really cares, right? and b) I have been busy with stuff and things, etc.

2) Sometimes coming up with a good excuse just seems like too much work.

3) Interval workouts are difficult.

4) I am slow at running.

In regard to item 3 & 4, fun nerd-evidence:

I had my first scheduled interval run on Thursday… Jeff prescribed a 3x3min timed interval workout (I’m supposed to do an interval day once a week).  So I warmed up for 10 minutes, then ran hard for 3 minutes, then a slow jog for 3 minutes, then did that two more times (for a total of 3 times, for those of you keeping score at home… starting to piece together all that crazy “3×3” talk from a couple sentences ago, eh?  Look at you.  So quick.)

The intervals were pretty consistent… and apparently when I “run hard” for 3 minutes, I run at about a 7:30 mile pace.  Roughly fast enough to almost place in the top 20 at your local middle school track meet.  Outstanding.

Also, I ran a 5k at a 8:15 pace… shouldn’t my “fast” pace for 3 minutes be better than 7:30?  I mean, I don’t know much about much, but it seems like those numbers should be further apart.

Anyway, it bears repeating: interval workouts are difficult and I am slow at running.

But hopefully getting better…

Distance: 3.3 mile run on Tuesday, 3.3 mile interval training run on Thursday

It was a TOUGH week for food.  I’ll get to this in another post… but I’ve exposed a weakness that I’ve yet to discover an answer for.  We may be on the cusp of another confessional… Food: C-

And this is a heartbreaking first for a Fat Friday… the first RISE in weight.  Ouch.

219.6 lbs

I’ve sullied my otherwise mildly inspiring and/or embarrassing progress graph:

Dang.  I would have liked to not see a rise there.  But as you’ll see in forthcoming posts… it may have been unavoidable…

This entry was posted in dan vs fat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment