Colorado!

This will have to be a multi-day blog, as I am out skiing in the beautiful state of Colorado.  Seriously… how did I come to be a resident of Illinois.  Folly of follies.

At any rate, vacations are always err… “interesting” for diets and fitness discipline.  Here is the goal: always eat healthy at home (and we’re staying in a beautiful home, thanks to friends, so we’ll be staying in quite a bit), always watch portion sizes, and ski really hard.  When we go out to eat, I’m allowed to be a little more relaxed, although still looking for a healthy option.  As far as beer… it’s vacation.  I’m not having tons of beer, but I want to be able to enjoy some good craft brews here and there without worrying about it.  I’m hoping I can keep diet under control enough that I’ll be burning significantly more calories on the slopes and have some expeditious weight loss.

Okay… That post was from a few days ago.  Ha.  Too busy having fun with friends and skiing to post on a blog… I think we’re all okay with that.  Believe it or not I have not been flooded with reader emails lamenting “Dude, where is the blog today?  I’ve been reading every day, NOW what am I supposed to do?!?”

Anyway, at this point the vacation is wrapping up and I can begin to evaluate my efforts out in the glorious mountains.  Three amazing days of skiing… and I went pretty hard at it.  Chalk up three days of what I can honestly call “all day interval training”.  Not necessarily incredibly aerobic… but a great work out.  Distance: ?

As far as eating… I did NOT go with the healthy choice when we went out to eat.  I couldn’t find any in-between that looked good, so I just ordered something that I knew I really wanted… beer battered fish ‘n’ chips, with a Breckenridge Brewery IPA to wash it down.  Delicious.  Not healthy.  Also, I’ve been snacking a lot at the house, sometimes healthy snacks, but definitely some chips and dip here and there.  Breakfast and slope food were both very healthy… Overall grade: Food: C+

Weight?  At the risk of seeming uncommitted, I didn’t actually bring my scale out here.  But I weighed myself on Thursday before I left, and the magic number is 231.6 lbs.

Oddly, I feel like I’ve actually gained weight this trip, despite the skiing.  I was really hoping to be below 230 when I got home… I guess we’ll see…

This entry was posted in dan vs fat. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Colorado!

  1. Dad says:

    Breckenridge Lucky-U IPA and the 471 double IPA are indeed excellent healthy meals and should help train your body for the return to Illinois slopes. Delicious and healthy. They are healthy.
    …please tell me they are healthy.

Leave a comment