Day 1

Technically, it’s not really Day 1.

I started last week.  But I’m considering this my first week, so I guess that makes this my first day.  The goal is to run 3 times a week for the next 3 weeks.  Really, I’d like to run more often than 3 times a week, but might bike or swim those other days instead… I’ve been told not to try too much too soon.

Running is hard for me, mostly because I’m fat, weak, and mentally feeble.  I’ve been trying to run about half an hour.  The overall goal would be to break a 24-minute 5k.  Eventually, I’d like to be lower than that, obviously… but, you know, baby steps.

Today’s run was not good.  I had a great run on Saturday… really saw some improvement.  Today I tried to start at the pace that I ended with on Saturday, and it just did not work for me.  Also, I think I was a bit dehydrated.  But I struggled around the 1.5 mile mark and had to walk more than I wanted.  (I’ve been doing some run-walk sometimes to ease into, but never walking for more than a minute).  Distance: 5k

Ate okay today.  Bowl of crappy cereal, home-made chicken noodle soup for lunch (delicious, thanks to Kel), and when I got home Kelly and the YL kids had eaten all the spaghetti & meatballs, so I just had a protein shake and a couple pretzels.  Then, I had a brownie because Kel had made them fresh for our aforementioned company.  C’mon, fresh brownies!  How can you blame me? I think I’ll give myself a food grade for each day… a mixture of enjoyment and health (although those two can be dichotomous… I’m trying to enjoy bad food less, and vice-versa) .  Food: C+

And the grand finale?  Well… that’s where it gets tricky.  I want my weigh-ins to be normalized to measure progress better, but don’t own a scale.  I’ve seen a decent variance so far on the scale at HealthTrack, due to going different times of day… but the high end from last week (with running clothes/shoes on) was 247 lbs.  We can start there.  That is the most I’ve ever weighed.

And it’s the most I ever WILL weigh…

This entry was posted in dan vs fat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment